top of page

Freya’s Next Adventure Begins!

Old Point Comfort anchorage
Freya’s route to the Bahamas

Freya is bound for the Bahamas🇧🇸! Last night, we anchored in the James River at Old Point Comfort in Hampton, Virginia🇻🇬. Right across the river from Norfolk. We are underway and will depart the Chesapeake Bay at Cape Henry. We've already seen dolphins and a Navy submarine! We will sail around Cape Hatteras, cross the Gulf Stream and then head straight south to the Bahamas. It's an 800+ mile passage, which will take Freya 5-6 days. Atlantic Ocean, here we come! We hope to make landfall on Cat island, one of our favorite stops in the Bahamas last winter.


So it's true...I completely fell off the blog wagon last winter. Argh. Thanks for your patience and understanding. Thanks too, for encouraging me to get it going again! Please stay in touch by commenting on my posts. I love hearing from my peeps and your messages help motivate me to write😉! My goal is to stay on track this year. If I really get my act together, I'll fill in the blanks from the last several months. Don't hold your breath though...


Freya and her crew are ready! Sea berths are made, gear is stowed, tanks are full and snacks are plentiful! I even made a batch of Garbs bars for our passage! Want to make bets on how many days they last?!😋


Next stop, Bahamas! Go Freya😄⛵️



5 Comments


Tom Pierson
Tom Pierson
Nov 01, 2022

Fair winds and following seas Freya! Wish I caught you before you departed Worton Creek! Meeting you guys was a highlight of my summer! Best of luck…Tom

Like

deneendaisy
Oct 31, 2022

It’s almost 2:00 here in TC, sunny, light south breezes with 64 in the shade! Not such good sailing, but a gorgeous day!! Glad to know you’re under way!! We’re imagining you two being excited to be headed south with a wonderful passage ahead of you! Hope the weather holds true and the winds are favorable for Freya!! Thanks for starting your blog once again! Hope you keep at it!! Love to you both this Happy Halloween Day! Linda and Bob

Like
svigland
svigland
Nov 01, 2022
Replying to

Thanks for the TC update, Linda. Sounds like a perfect day for Iceman training. We will still be sailing when the Iceman starts on Saturday. Crazy! Cheer on the locals for me! We are 20 miles north of Cape Hatteras. So far, so good!

Like

Carey Owens
Oct 31, 2022

Thank you so much for your posts! LOVE hearing about your adventures. I feel like I’m there with you ❤️

Like
svigland
svigland
Oct 31, 2022
Replying to

Thanks Carey!  I appreciate you!

Like
bottom of page